The new changing table I just completed

I’ve been busy over the winter learning furniture construction. I recently completed a new changing table for our nursery. It’s made of red oak and finished with a blonde shellec top-coated with water-based polyurethane. I was fairly pleased with how it turned out. I chose a lighter finish to keep the furniture from feeling too massive. I’ll be moving on to a convertible crib / full-sized bed design this weekend.

New changing table installed in the nursery.

I also made the letters on the wall above the changing table. I found a nice font I liked on my computer and printed out huge versions of them which I transferred to a sheet of MDF using a carbon-transfer paper. I then cut them out with a jigsaw, sanded them smooth and coated them with acrylic spray paint. I tried using liquid acrylic but the yellow and blue were far too transparent.

The photo below shows a closer look at the table with one of the hand-painted knobs that I purchased for the drawer pulls.

Closer view of table.

One of the wonderful animal-themed drawer pulls.

I picked up the drawer pulls from Carolina Hardware and Decor who have a great selection of decorative pulls and knobs, many surprisingly still made in the USA. I used a mouse, bunny, bull, pig, lion, and tiger for the dresser.

3 thoughts on “The new changing table I just completed

  1. I love your work..especially the grandmother’s chair..Did it come to you from Delta?? I lved that lady! hugs.

    • Barbara, thank you for the kind words. The chair actually came from my dad’s mom.

      I miss Delta and wish she could have lived a longer life. She was such an inspiration for me to live life without taking yourself or others too seriously. She was a great woman and I think of her often.

  2. Pingback: Woodworking and hand tools | Rich Adams Fine Art

Leave a Reply

